Fall Garden Update!

Winter Squash Vines - August 10, 2010.

 

 I can’t believe I haven’t posted in over a month.  But I have been very busy.  I went to two beaches, one parade, a blue-grass concert, an Old Settler’s day,  a family reunion, two picnics, a pig roast and beer-tasting night.  Those are my excuses.  I nursed my fall garden through the hot drought of August and I am now reaping the rewards.  Lots of winter squash, chinese cabbage, regular cabbage, little green beans that will be ready soon, tons of winter squash and rapidly growing beets, spinach and turnips.  I’ll keep the photos coming as the harvest commences.  

40 degrees celsius in the shade! Yikes. This photo was taken on August 10. The day we returned from a 10 day trip.

 

Look how cracked the earth was near my raised beds in Derby. This was from the long August dry spell and hot weather.

  

Leave a Reply

