and the winner is….

The very appropriately named winner of my Tomato Race is Champion.  This tomato was the first to produce ripe fruit this year and gave me the two small tomatoes shown below on June 28.  In an earlier post I listed the tomato varieties I planted.  Unfortunately Jet Star and Cherokee Purple did not finish the race, they both suddenly wilted and died.  Not sure why, but my hypothesis is gophers.

0.07 lbs of "Champion" tomatoes! They were yummy. Hoping for a few more and larger ones.

Leave a Reply

