Spinning Spring Salad

I’m not a big fan of Ron-Popeil-type gadetry, although I do understand that spray-on hair was a tremendous boon for  balding men in the 80’s.  Having said that, I will admit that I once purchased the Ron Popeil “set it and forget it” rotisserie cooker for three easy payments totalling twice as much as the same item was selling for at the local Best Buy store.  I used it three or four times and then sold it at a garage sale for about 1/4 the price that the same item was selling for at the local Best Buy store.  More recently, urban farmer gal introduced me to another novel kitchen gadget – the Salad Spinner.  I approached the salad spinner with skepticism and some scornful mirth.  I don’t think this plastic gadget came from the infamous Ronco, but it looks like it might have.  Despite its kitschy good looks, it works remarkably well.   Using it requires 5 easy steps:  1)  Wash and insert wet salad.  2) Attache lid.  3)  Spin by turning handle. 4)  Remove dry and fluffed up salad greens. 5)  Supplies are limited so order before midnight.

Wet Salad in Spinner

Assembled Salad Spinner.

Dry Salad in Salad Spinner

  

If you don’t have one of these, you should get one.  I’m going to see if I can buy a few of them and give them out as gifts.   I never thought I would appreciate dried lettuce so much!    

The garden is doing fine, though I have been so busy lately that I have not been to the garden for a few days.  Last time I was there, I picked the spinach shown in the photos above along with some radishes and onions.  These onions are called Granick and were planted around March 7. 

First onions of the year! They were delicious sliced and sauteed along with their tops in olive oil.

2 responses to “Spinning Spring Salad

  1. NICE! Been looking for a salad spinners at garage sales. I used to have one years ago and sold it at a yard sale. *sigh* Now that I’m growing lettuce, I want it again. Beautiful onions and radishes.

  2. My salad spinner is powered by pump-action. I don’t remember who made it but I agree with you on the three easy payments.
    Your onions look good. I only planted salad onions this year. I may plant some onions this fall for next year. I ate the last of my salad onions this morning in fact.

Leave a Reply

