Native Plant Gardening and First Salad

Growing native plants is a great way to increase the plant diversity of the urban landscape.  They  require less water, provide food for wildlife and don’t take over the way many invasives do.  This weekend I went to a native plant sale at Dyck Arboretum in Hesston Kansas with Debbie and Chuck.  

Debbie and Chuck at Dyck Arboretum

At the plant sale I bought three shurbs to go under one of our Red Oaks (not Ole Gruesome Jr.) where I have just completed a mulched bed.  The mulch I used in this bed came from a place called Evergreen Recycling and is made from ground up shipping pallets.  They fill my pick-up truck for $15, not too bad.   At the plant sale a guy named Scott helped me pick out of a couple of plants that I had not heard of.  They are Blackhaw Viburnum (Viburnum prunifolium) and Clove Current (Ribes aureum).  I also purchased an Arrowwood Viburnum (Viburnum dentatum) which is a shrub I had in my rain garden back in Maryland.  Here is a photo of them after planting in the bed around our western most Red Oak.   There is also a close up of the Clove Currant which is currently blooming.

Three native shrubs in my new bed of recycled mulch.

Close up of our new Clove Currant.

On Friday, I picked the first salad from this years garden.  It consisted of Burpee Mesclun Salad Mix and simpson Elite lettuce planted on February 28 along with Burpee Spinach planted around March 27. 

First Salad

Leave a Reply

